Artist Bios

MAIN STAGE | Friday, June 8 | 10:45 PM

Tied with Winstock ‘08 headliner Reba McEntire for the most Country Music Association Female Vocalist of the Year awards (four), Martina McBride released her 11th studio album titled “Eleven” Oct. 11, 2011. McBride was again nominated for the prestigious award and performed her new hit “I”m Gonna Love You Through It” live at this year’s ceremony Nov. 9.

And, after two decades in the music business, McBride is starting over. Now signed to Republic Nashville, and with new management, a new co-producer, newly-spotlighted songwriting skills, and a brand new spirit of accomplishment, McBride is swinging into high gear. And, she couldn’t be more thrilled.

“It really feels like starting over for me — but with a track record and with the success and experience I’ve had over the years,” she said. “I feel more mature and more confident, which comes with knowing yourself better. And there are a lot of opportunities now that I haven’t had in a long time.”

“I’m Gonna Love You Through It,” is climbing the charts at radio and has seen steady online digital sales since it was released Aug. 19. The music video for “I’m Gonna Love Your Through It” was recently the iTunes “Video of The Week,” garnering more than 150,000 downloads. The video features dozens of cancer survivors and supporters, including four well-known celebrities – Robin Roberts (anchor for ABC’s Good Morning America); Hoda Kotb (anchor for NBC’s TODAY Show); Grammy award-winning singer Sheryl Crow and ABC journalist Katie Couric – who each have very personal connections to the disease.

“It’s such a powerful song. The first time I listened to ‘I’m Gonna Love You Through It,’ I was moved by what it says,” McBride said. “I thought immediately, ‘This song is going to help someone.’ I had the same reaction to it that I did the when I heard ‘Independence Day’ for the first time. Even though I haven’t gone through anything like this with someone close to me, I still feel like people listening to this song will find some hope or the words to say what they’re feeling.”

As one of the most powerful voices in any genre of music, McBride is a also a three-time ACM Female Vocalist of the Year and Grammy-winning recording artist with more than 18 million in album sales. When her longtime contract with RCA Records expired in 2010, McBride revved up for new challenges ahead.

“There comes a time when you have to step back and say, I need something different,” she said. “It was a risk, but you have to do what feels right.” After weighing her options, Martina decided to join two year-old Republic Nashville, part of the Big Machine Records family of labels.

“We had a couple of offers that were really great,” she said, “but what really drew me in the end was Scott Borchetta and his reputation. When I met with him and his staff, their enthusiasm and passion for music were so evident — not only for the business but for the music. I really got the feeling that they get up every day and say, ‘Wow! We get to be in the music business!” They have an innovative approach and such positive energy. It’s contagious and something I wanted to be a part of.”

The feeling was mutual. Jimmy Harnen, president of Republic Nashville, said, “Scott and I are big fans of Martina’s. So when we found out she was looking for a new home, we didn’t run after her — we raced after her! An artist of her stature is timeless.”

Perhaps the most significant aspect of “Eleven” is the fact that Martin herself co-wrote six of the 11 tracks on the album, something she’s especially proud of. In the past, she admits she wasn’t always secure about her songwriting, but this album has brought her newfound confidence.

The breadth of McBride’s talents – as recording artist, producer, songwriter, and concert entertainer – has made her an in-demand performer and personality, appearing on such high-profile programs as VH1 Divas, Dancing with the Stars, The Today Show’s “Today Throws a Wedding,” American Idol, Oprah, The Bachelorette, Private Sessions, a 20/20 special, and much more. Celebrated for her beauty and sense of fashion, as well as her everywoman perspective in life and music, McBride has graced the cover Redbook, Ladies Home Journal, People Magazine, Country Weekly and Shape.

Building up to her 2012 Winstock performance, McBride will take to the road with the King of Country Music, George Strait. McBride will close things down in style Friday night at Winstock 2012 June 8, and she has previously performed at Winstock in 2003 and 1998.

“My biggest desire is to keep making records and keep touring,” McBride said. “I hope I get to do this for as long as I can, because I love it so much.”

Hit Songs

• “Blessed”
• “I Love You”
• “Wrong Again”
• “A Broken Wing”
• “Wild Angels”
• “Anyway”
• “In My Daughter’s Eyes”
• “This One’s for the Girls”
• “Concrete Angel”
• “Where Would You Be”
• “Love’s the Only House”
• “Whatever You Say”
• “Happy Girl”
• “Valentine” (with Jim Brickman)
• “Safe in the Arms of Love”
• “My Baby Loves Me”
• “When God Fearin’ Women Get the Blues”
• “Independence Day”
• “Ride”
• “I Just Call You Mine”

Winstock Country Music Festival • Winsted, MN
Home | Tickets | Camping | Schedule | Info | Maps | Artists | Contests | Features | Sponsors | Contact Us